“Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple.”

February 2, 2011

I haven't written for a very long time.  My last entry was October!  I think it's official...I suck at blogging.  I was recently reading some of my Mom's old journals and thought about how important it is to keep some kind of record of your life.  Maybe one day my daughters will read these posts and feel just a little bit closer to me.  Ok, now the Caldwell news: First, we finally managed to find a new place.  We moved to downtown Honolulu.  We loved our neighborhood in Waikiki, especially being so near the ocean, but found that every weekend we were cabbing or busing it downtown to go to our favorite bars.  So, we thought we'd try living closer to the bars and biking to the beach.  Priorities, people!

It's been good so far, though very different.  Honolulu is bustling and busy during the weekday, but weekends it dies away and only the bars and restaurants in Chinatown (our favs, luckily) are open.  But, we've uncovered our favorite coffee shops (a must), brunch place, grocery and places to run all within a short walk.  Moving back was quite an adjustment.  I don't think I ever really felt we were staying, officially, until we moved in our new place.  That was a good day.  I happily unpacked all of my clothes from their tired old suitcases and even had Joe take a picture to commemorate this monumental event. (see happy Katie above!)  We made homemade pizza that night and settled in our new place!  Of course that didn't take long considering that we had 2 suitcases each.  Our building is great - way too fancy for two people that lived on a friend's boat for free for months.  Ha!  We lucked out with a gorgeous view of Diamond Head, Punchbowl, downtown and the ocean!  :)

What else happened in those lost months?  Well, we participated in a very fun Hawaii Halloween...NO ONE celebrates Halloween like the residents of Oahu...they are obsessed!  We went to several fun parties, decked out in our ridiculous costume.  I cannot take credit, for Joe has wanted to do this outfit for a number of years now.  I finally caved.  It was quite successful, we even ended up with our picture in the paper!  We went to the huge Chinatown Hallowbaloo extravaganza, which is always highly entertaining.

Also, I managed to run my 2nd marathon here in Honolulu.  I can now officially call myself a "marathoner".  I did great, finishing in 3:57:00.  A whole 23 minutes off my old time.  This was a much harder race than my last one.  When I ran in Buenos Aires, I put no pressure on myself to finish in any particular time.  This time, though I carefully told everyone I didn't care about my time, I secretly did.  :)  I ran my hardest and paid for it for the next few days.  But it was an amazing experience...the Honolulu Marathon is the 11th largest in the world, which was a much different experience from my first.  I got to start with an amazing friend and great girl, Shawna, who also beat her old time.  I think it will be awhile before I attempt another oh-so-humbling 26 miles, but I'm sure I will do it again.





We spent the holidays here in Honolulu this year.  While it's always a little sad not to be with family, we actually had a fantastic Christmas!  It's the first time we've ever celebrated the holidays alone.  Even in past years when we've stayed in Hawaii, we always had friends over or went to someone's house to celebrate.  This year we decided to stay home and be together.  Our own little Caldwell Christmas!  It was great...we made yummy food, drank large amounts of eggnog, played games, watched Christmas movies and decorated our tree with Hawaiian ornaments.  :)  I felt very happy and blessed.  I think my Joey and I are more in love and happier than we've ever been, which is wonderful.We decided to host our own party for New Year's and had a GREAT time with our amazing friends.  We love you all dearly...thanks so much for making it so much fun!!!!

We had to say a sad goodbye to two of our closest and dearest friends in Hawaii, Sarah and Poe.  If you recall, this is the couple that allowed us to live on their boat for several months.  They left Hawaii after 8 years and moved to Denver, CO.  We miss them horribly!  It's difficult to find a couple that you relate to AS a couple as well as individually.  We will never be able to replace you two!  A hui hou!  
 


It was an adjustment coming back...making peace with staying and Joe starting a new job, which he seems to be enjoying.  I have been trying to decide if I wanted to go back to school, or work.  I began applying for jobs with very little luck.  I honestly (and perhaps somewhat naively) thought that I'd be able to find something relatively quickly.  I was wrong.  Going back to get my Master's degree is something I have wanted for a very long time.  It sort of seemed like it was now or never.  I began the frustrating process of figuring out what I needed to do to get an advanced degree.  As it turns out, if you are like me, (um, old) and have been out of school for a decade, you are required to take a few "pre-requisites" to get into the Master's program...at least at the University of Hawaii.  After many differing and confusing conversations with UH, I finally settled on 3 Sociology classes that will hopefully meet the requirement.  I opted to take them online, via my Alma Mater (Austin Peay State University) because it was significantly cheaper as I am still considered an out-of-state resident here in Hawaii.  So here I am - a 31 year-old schoolgirl!  But more wrinkles and grey hair than plaid skirts and pigtails.  ;)  I'm excited however, and am enjoying my classes so far.  I was nervous going back to school after so long, but I think I'm really going to like it.  Joe has been incredibly supportive and helpful.  I would ideally LOVE to find a part-time job while taking these classes, so I'm still applying for jobs, hoping something in my field will become available.

And...whew!  That's it...the brief synopsis of our lives over the last several months.  I now vow to be a better little blogging girl.  Besides, what in the world would my millions of readers spend their time doing, if not reading my witticisms?  :)  Until next time, aloha!

2 Responses to ““Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple.””

  1. Faye said

    I love you much katie and joe. I’m SO SO SO happy you two are more inlove than ever. i miss you much. Faye

    Like

Leave a Reply

