If friends were flowers, I’d pick you.

October 6, 2010

Even though my most recent post has been about saying goodbye to friendships and the sadness that accompanies moving on…I am so blessed, lucky and thrilled to have such wonderful people in my life.  I’ve had to rely on my friends heavily as of late.  I’ve been really worried and stressed out about where we’re going, where we will be living, etc.  Though it’s wonderful to be home, it’s been a worrisome couple of months.  I’ve really been noticing and marveling at the amazing qualities my friends have to offer.  I not only notice, I try to model myself after you (most likely unsuccessfully).  🙂  This line of thinking has caused me to TELL you – how many times do we think wonderful thoughts about the people we love and not express them???  You know, “Say what you need to say…” and all that.


Joe: My hubby, my Barrrr…you are husband AND friend.  I am endlessly  thankful for your never-ending patience.  It is sincerely overwhelming.  And though I may not always SEEM like I appreciate it, I can’t put into words how much I do. It is actually awe-inspiring to me at times.  You constantly remind me to be a more relaxed, go-with-the-flow person.  How am I doing?  (haha)

Becky (Shoo): You have so many outstanding qualities it’s hard to pick, because I love you so fiercely.  But I think it would be your charisma. You are just a charming little thing, Shoo!  All of my friends instantly fall in love with you because of it…you are always comfortable with yourself, and make everyone else at ease from the moment they meet you.  I admire this greatly and try to model myself after it.

Kristin (my wife!): I love you for many, many reasons…but I looooove how friggin’ down to earth you are!  You are this fantastically GORGEOUS girl, and one would think you would be quite stuck up because of your apparent beauty, but you are sooo the opposite!  You inspire me to stay in shape and try new, fun things.  I love that I could call you to try a new beach, play all day at Target, run around the island (quite literally), dance all night long, or order the Katie Special (2 pizzas) and pig out and talk about life, love and friendship.  You are my wife and I love you.  I try to approach life with the same gusto that you do, my friend.

Faye (Fayefalina): Your pure honesty.  You are one of those rare people that say EXACTLY what is in your head.  I marvel at it.  I am a very blunt person, but you have me beat.  There is NO FILTER in your head!  Hahaha…ohhh how I love it.  And somehow you manage to deliver it in a way that isn’t offensive, just funny.  I have yet to master this art…as I just usually manage to offend.  And I can always count on you to tell me the truth, which is a rare thing, indeed…and something I very much appreciate.  Don’t EVER change.

Sarah Tyler: I love you for sooo many reasons, my dear friend!  But one would be your incredible enthusiasm!  I have seen you get just as excited about cheese cards (haha) as you do about an awesome trip or a new job.  I LOVE IT.  I think it makes you an eternal optimist and just shows people your love and zest for life.  This pessimist could always use a dose of positivity!  Try as I might, I don’t think I will ever master it the way that you have, making everyone around you feel happy and good about themselves, but I will always strive to be like you in that way.

Sarah Chamberlain: You know what I’m going to say!!!!  I admire how laid-back you are…dear GOD woman, you can go with the flow!  I am soooo the opposite, having to have everything neat and tidy in my mind.  I continually think to myself, “How would Sarah handle this?” and then probably (with every intention being to handle it like you) do the complete opposite.  But I will continute to notice it, and strive to be more like you in this way…it always impresses me.

Toni: Ohhhh my Tone!  You have so many magnificent qualities and will forever be my sister, though we have grown and changed so much from our funny little high school days!  I admire your kindness. You are pure of heart in every sense of the word.  Never hesitating to give someone a compliment, never letting jealousy, anger, or pettyness (is that word?) influence your actions.  I will never in my life be as naturally sweet as you are, but I will go down trying to be like “Da Tone.”

Jenny K: Oh, my soul sister…my sister from another mister.  🙂  You are hilarious and witty!  I will always cherish your humor. Never in my life have a met another person with a better sense of humor.  No matter how down I am, you can make me laugh.  You find the funny in EVERYTHING and it makes you not only a blast to be around, but healing, in the way that laughter and someone to laugh with is always healing.  I adore you for this; you have taught me the art of self-deprecation.  Don’t know what I would do without ya.

Amita: Girrrrrl I am so very happy to be able to spend time with you lately.  For lack of a better term, I love how you unapologizingly do what you WANT.” (Amita’s known catchphrase)  🙂  You really do!  You are gutsy and brave and follow your heart completely.  It not only entertains me to no end, it inspires me to go for what I want, and teaches me not to apologize or feel guilty about it (as I am often racked with self-inflicted guilt!).  You are versatile and down for anything which makes you a complete blast!  I am trying to learn (from you) to always be willing to “take one for the team” and never let a fun opportunity pass me by, because I am sleepy, or feeling lazy…or whatever other excuses we all come up with.

Heather: (HeathOR): Every time I talk to you, I talk your HEAD off.  You teach me to be a better listener.  No matter what ridiculous, neurotic thing I am droning on about, you listen with rapt attention, always asking pertinent questions, and always making me feel loved, important, and cared for.  What a gift!  My therapist, my friend.  You undoubtedly do this good-naturedly with everyone, which will forever remain in my mind as something I will strive to achieve.

Katie B! (#1): Surely you know!  You are fearless, my friend.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like it.  I could be like, “Katie…let’s bungee jump all of the major bridges in the US.” and you would TOTALLY do it.  Haha!  I love it, and admire it.  I am a bit of a wuss, so it always amazes and impresses me to watch someone like you, with your mighty boldness.  Some may call it wreckless, I just call it badass.  😉  I’m working on it.

Caitlan: Ours is a new friendship, but you are a kindred spirit that I hope to keep around!  🙂  I am so happy I met you in our beloved Argentina!!!  I love how endearingly open you are.  You are not judgmental in any sense of the word, and are so straight-forward about your flaws and strengths that it is genuinely refreshing.  It’s what has allowed you to live a gypsy-esque lifestyle this last year; your ever-open heart and mind to all things new, different, exciting and interesting. You approach life in such a confident manner that it actually makes me jealous!  I love you for it!

Please be not offended if you are not mentioned…it doesn’t mean I don’t love you, it more likely means we haven’t talked recently.  I purposely chose my girlfriends (and hubby!) to praise through this forum; I undoubtedly have many amazing guy friends as well as family members that help and love me in more ways than I can put into words.  But it’s these fabulous people that I have been learning from lately, and felt they needed to know what goodness I take from them and attempt to apply in my own life.  With more gratitude than I can share, thank you thank you thank you from the bottom of my heart, my dear friends.

2 Responses to “If friends were flowers, I’d pick you.”

  1. Rebecca said

    SHHHHHOOOOOOoooo there are no words! This is beautiful. And while you spent all that time praising us, it clearly shows what we love in you-your sincere thoughtfulness, and appreciation of what you have amongst many, many other qualities. That you for writing this, it made my day, my week, my LIFE 🙂 Love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

